Manual Save in The Callisto Protocol : Solved

by Narendra

Manual Save in The Callisto Protocol: The manual save system in Callisto Protocol has been giving players a lot of trouble. This is because it doesn’t work like a save system should. People think it’s not working because it’s so strange. It is, but in a way that doesn’t make sense. So, let’s talk about what’s happening.

Manual Save in The Callisto Protocol

As we said up top, The Callisto Protocol’s manual save system is a bit of a mess. I’m pretty sure, though, that they are actually working right.

The problem is that these manual saves don’t actually keep track of where you are in the game. Instead, it just changes the last auto-save checkpoint into a manual save point.

How does this work in real life? Well, the manual save won’t be erased when you reach the next checkpoint, which is good. It also means that when you load that save, you won’t be right where you were when you saved.

You will instead start at the last checkpoint you reached before saving. No, I’m not sure why.

So, that’s pretty much all you need to know about The Callisto Protocol’s manual save. It’s not perfect, but you can sort of choose which chapter you want to read next.

Just save by hand at the beginning of each level, and you’ll be good to go. You ask, “Why would you want to do that?” Well, because there is no New Game+ and no chapter selection by default.

So, strategic manual saves are pretty much your only option.